Labor Cake: My Story

I’ve been making some much needed changes with my blog and as I’ve been looking around, one thing I’ve noticed is that the Labor Cake post is by far my most visited post. In fact, if you Google “labor cake” you’ll find my post at result #18 out of almost 25,000,000 results. That’s 25 million! There are a lot of desperate pregnant women out there willing to try anything to jump-start their labor and I know the feeling!

Anyway, I realized that I never recorded the results of my finding and even 16 1/2 months later, I still remember: I finished baking the cake on a Sunday night. I frosted it and promptly ate a large piece for breakfast on Monday. I ate another large piece Tuesday and Wednesday and by late that night I was in labor. Luke was born Thursday morning. Coincidence? Probably, but I thought I would share my story even if it gives miserably pregnant women false hope that eating copious amounts of sugar and chocolate would trigger that ever elusive contraction signaling the beginnings of labor. If you are one of those ladies searching the web for an easy recipe and a success story, welcome. The cake is ridiculously delicious and makes a great dessert even if that’s all you get out of it.

Below is my original post dated March 12, 2012 and the recipe for Labor Cake. Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~At the beginning of this pregnancy, I downloaded a couple of pregnancy apps on my iPhone and started reading some of the forums, mainly the March 2012 forum. As it implies, this particular forum is for all the women due in March of 2012, myself included. During my pregnancies with Josh and Andy I didn’t visit many pregnancy sites and rarely jumped into any forum but I’m sure that’s because I didn’t have them so readily available to me through an iPhone. Now I read them daily and, surprisingly, they have been mostly drama-free, given the amount of hormonal women posting various topics. Sure there have been some heated debates but most women are respectful of others’ opinions and views even when the opinions and views are quite ridiculous.

With it being mid-March, many women have had their babies already and so those of us who are weary and still waiting for that first sign of impending labor are doing whatever we can to get it started. One such endeavor I learned through the forum and had never heard of is the “coffee trick”. Boil a pot of coffee, pour the hot coffee into a bowl, place the bowl into a toilet bowl and sit over the steaming coffee for 20 minutes or so. It’s supposed to ripen the cervix or some such nonsense. And women are actually trying it! Silly if you ask me.
Another labor kick-starter is a sweet confection called a “labor cake”. Now, I am all for cake but I really don’t believe that a cake is going to start labor. I’m a firm believer that labor will eventually start in most cases when the baby is good and ready and if it happens to start after eating the cake (or sitting on steaming coffee, or eating spicy foods, or whatever) then it is purely coincidence, a happy coincidence nonetheless. Anyway, the cake sounded oh-so-delicious regardless of its claims to start labor so I made it last night. It was still too warm to frost when I went to bed so I frosted it this morning and ate a big slice for breakfast with a large glass of milk. And, wow, was it divine! So good and rich and yummy. I thought to myself that I can’t keep this cake a secret from my non-pregnant friends so here is the recipe:
Labor Cake
1 box devil’s food cake mix
I package chocolate instant pudding
1 cup sour cream
12 ounces chocolate chips
 
Prepare cake mix as instructed on the box. Mix in the pudding, sour cream, and chocolate chips. Pour the batter evenly into two greased 9 inch round cake pans and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour. If a toothpick comes out clean, they are done baking. I used a can of chocolate frosting to frost the cake when it cooled.
Supposedly the concoction of the ingredients should trigger contractions but here I sit without even a twinge. Oh well. At least the cake was good.
Leave a Reply

