Kindergarten

Yesterday was Andy’s first full day of Kindergarten. Technically, he started school on Tuesday but the elementary school in our district does an open-house style for their first day. For days and weeks, (Heck, months!) we counted down until the first day of school. I think it’s safe to say Andy was a little bit excited.

IMG_3386

On Tuesday, our suggested time slot according to our last name was at 4pm so we waited a torturous 6 hours until 3pm before we made the short drive to school. Finally we found Andy’s classroom, met his teacher, Mrs.K, and dropped off his school supplies. As I filled out paperwork (that could have been sent to our homes and turned in during orientation), Luke terrorized the classroom playing with the toys and books Mrs.K didn’t want touched. In fact, not only did he drag her Arthur doll across the floor and out the door, he broke Arthur’s glasses. Teacher was rather disappointed and I’m afraid we did not make a good first impression. Needless to say, we are ordering a new Arthur doll for the classroom.

IMG_3387

On Wednesday morning, while I was at work, Andy FaceTimed me and told me that his tummy felt scared. Both Chris and I reassured him that there would be a lot of adults around that would help him and to ask questions if he didn’t know what was going on. We told him that it is ok to feel scared but that he would soon get to see his friends and have fun at school.

I was so excited to hear about Andy’s first day of school that I was anxious for the clock to strike 3pm so we could meet him at the bus stop. Except the driver drove right past the curb I was standing on. She finally stopped when she saw me with Luke in a stroller chasing her and let Andy out. I wanted to get a picture of Andy coming off the bus since I didn’t get one of him getting on but that didn’t happen since I was still running to catch up with him when he stepped out.

His first words to me were, “I didn’t have a good day.” He knew I was going to ask and my heart just broke. Apparently, the kids still weren’t allowed to play with the toys and Mrs. K wanted to hold Andy’s hand as the class walked down the hallway. I can hardly get him to hold my hand so I’m sure she was frustrated with him. He also told us that she yelled at everybody. Of course I wasn’t there so I don’t know the circumstances but Andy was clearly upset about the day. Oh to be a fly on the wall.

Last night we talked more about school and prayed that Andy would have a better day today. I really hope so. He has such a deep love of learning and I would hate to see that love diminished so early in his schooling career. It’s been a rough start and this school year has the potential to be long but we will get through it and learn a few things along the way.

Update: Andy had a much better day today. Praise God! Mrs. K stilled yelled but it seems to be the only way to get the kids’ attention. And I was able to get a few pics of Andy getting off the bus today…

IMG_3395

IMG_3396

2 thoughts on “Kindergarten

  1. I feel your pain! My daughter was SO excited to start school and lOVEs to learn but struggled with not getting poor progress reports week after week. I wanted to give the teacher the benefit of the doubt, but eventually spoke with a mentor who knew the teacher’s style and helped me see how to advocate for my child without making it personal with the teacher.

    • My husband and I finally sent the teacher an email telling her all about Andy and that we are more than willing to work with her for Andy’s benefit. I hope that we can have a great relationship and that she will see Andy for who he is and not the active baby brother and frazzled mother that she met on orientation day. If we continue to get negative reports from Andy and his teacher, then I plan on seeking a mentor and advocating on Andy’s behalf. Thanks for that advice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

